All American Football League Announces Orlando as Site of First National Try-Outs

The All American Football League (AAFL: will conduct the first of a series of national tryouts for roster positions on eight charter teams at

Orlando’s Citrus Bowl, July 2-3, 2007. The schedule of try-outs was announced by AAFL’s Board Chairman and former NCAA President Cedric W. Dempsey.

The AAFL has scheduled its inaugural season to begin next spring. Venue agreements with university or municipal hosts have or are in the process of being finalized. Unlike other professional leagues, the AAFL is closely positioning itself to the traditional rivalries that help fuel the passion for college football to create and sustain team loyalty. Located in avid college football markets (i.e.
North Carolina,
Tennessee and

Texas), League teams will play a 10-game regular season schedule with a 42-man roster. The top four teams will advance to the two-round, post-season play-offs. The League’s inaugural championship game is planned for July 3, 2008.

“The tryouts represent an important and symbolic milestone in the League’s development since the concept of the league was initially formulated over one year ago,” said Dempsey. “Based on the board’s collective experience in intercollegiate sports, we know the passion for college football is unrivaled among fans in the markets we’ve identified to host franchises.

“We also know from market research that fans in these markets are enthusiastic about having the opportunity to see players who competed for some of the most storied programs in college football once again brought together under the banner of their school colors and traditions,” said Dempsey.

For example, League research conducted among college football fans in northern
Florida revealed significant interest in a team comprised mostly of former

University of
Florida players competing against teams whose rosters feature former players from both traditional rivals and other college football powerhouses.

“From a marketing perspective, the AAFL’s point of differentiation is the existing team passion and loyalty, the year-round interest in embracing tradition and the desire to see longstanding rivalries played out in a way that’s both familiar but also different,” explained Dempsey. To the extent practical, players will be placed on the team hosted by or located closest to their alma-mater.

Another AAFL point of difference is its player eligibility requirement.

Developed by the league’s Board members, who include former ACC
Commissioner and Notre Dame Athletic Director Gene Corrigan, former UCLA Athletic Director Peter Dalis, former Tennessee head football coach and Athletic Director and Florida head football coach Doug Dickey and former U.S. Naval Academy Athletic Director Jack Lengyel, players must have earned their Bachelor’s degree in addition to exhausting their college football eligibility.

“The AAFL is fully aligned with the academic missions of the universities that will serve as hosts for our franchises,” said Dempsey.

“The university administrators we’ve met believe our eligibility requirements will help improve graduation rates among football student-athletes. Our players still have the desire and belief in their ability to compete at the highest level but are well prepared to pursue professional careers outside of football. As such, they will serve as excellent role models for college student-athletes and high school athletes who want to play at the college level and beyond,” he said.

On July 2 from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., the Citrus Bowl in

FL will serve as the venue for the League’s first try-out camp. Player candidates must complete an application available on the League’s website.

On July 3, a second camp will be conducted for invited player candidates from 4:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. The camp will include a non-contact passing and kicking game scrimmage from 7:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. to which the public is invited.

Additional try-out camps are planned for early September in locations to be announced and in late September in
Texas and

Michigan at venues to be announced.