CBC, City, and Sportsnet Celebrate Valentine’s Day With 15th Annual Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada

Canadians will be in the perfect position to honor one of their favorite Valentines this Saturday, Feb. 14, as the country’s annual hockey tradition, Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada, descends on Halifax, NS, to celebrate the nation’s beloved game.  Coverage begins at Noon ET/9 a.m. PT and continues all day and night long with live game action on CBC, City, Sportsnet, and Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE.

The 13.5-hour broadcast will be headlined by an NHL tripleheader, featuring five national game broadcasts with all seven Canadian NHL teams in action. George Stroumboulopoulos will be front-and-centre hosting from the Hockey Central studio in Toronto, while Ron MacLean will be on-location at the Outdoor Oval in Halifax. Kelly Hrudey, Elliotte Friedman and Nick Kypreos join Stroumboulopoulos in Toronto, with  Don Cherry, Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Jennifer Botterill, and NHL alumni including Wendel Clark, Lanny McDonald and Guy Carbonneau joining MacLean in Halifax.

Teammates is the theme of the 15th edition of Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada, and will be the focus of special stories that will be presented throughout the broadcast, featuring hockey’s greatest stars including Sidney Crosby, Nathan McKinnon, Dick Irvin and Larry Kwong – the first Chinese Canadian to play in the NHL.

The broadcast will also visit the following communities throughout the day:

·         South Delta, BC (Ladner Leisure Centre) – Sportsnet’s James Cybulski will be joined by former Canucks goalie Kirk McLean

·         Downsview, ON (Scotiabank Pond) – Sportsnet’s Carly Agro will be joined by former Leafs forward Shayne Corson

·         Chambly, QC (Isatis Sport Chambly) – Sportsnet’s Chantal Desjardins will be joined by former Habs goalie Jose Theodore

 

Sportsnet’s CHL broadcast team will also be onsite in Halifax on Friday, Feb. 13 (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on Sportsnet) and Saturday, Feb. 14 (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on Sportsnet) for back-to-back Halifax Moosehead games, live from Scotiabank Place. Host Rob Faulds will be joined by analysts John Shannon and Todd Warriner, while RJ Broadhead calls play-by-play alongside analyst Sam Cosentino. Saturday’s game features a special ceremonial puck drop with MacLean and Cherry.

 

In Halifax, the festivities get underway tonight (Wednesday, Feb. 11) and continue through Saturday, with a star-studded cast joining the celebrations including the revered Stanley Cup, Sportsnet’s Ken Reid, Evanka Osmak, Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Jennifer Botterill, Tara Slone, as well as NHL alumni Lanny McDonald, Wendel Clark, Darcy Tucker, Mark Napier, Bobby Smith, Cam Russell, Guy Carbonneau, Jon Sim and Joey DiPenta.

Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada Broadcast Schedule:

*All NHL games available live on Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE

Friday, Feb. 13

CHL on Sportsnet – Friday Night Hockey: Shawinigan Cataractes vs. Halifax Mooseheads, 8 p.m. AT/5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West & Pacific)

Play-by-play: RJ Broadhead; Game Analyst: Sam Cosentino; Rinkside Reporter: Shawn McKenzie
Studio Host (from Halifax): Rob Faulds, John Shannon, and Todd Warriner

Saturday, Feb. 14

·         Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada: Celebrating the Game – Part 1 (CBC and Sportsnet)
(Toronto) Host: George Stroumboulopoulos; Studio Analysts: Elliotte Friedman, Kelly Hrudey and Nick Kypreos

(Halifax) Ron MacLean – live from the Emera Oval

·         2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT – Edmonton Oilers vs. Ottawa Senators (CBC and Sportsnet)
Play-by-play: Kevin Quinn; Game Analyst: Drew Remenda; Rinkside Reporter: Gene Principe

·         5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT –  Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada: Celebrating the Game – Part 2 (CBC and Sportsnet)
(Toronto) Host: George Stroumboulopoulos; Studio Analysts: Elliotte Friedman, Kelly Hrudey and Nick Kypreos

(Halifax) Ron MacLean – live from the Emera Oval

·         5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT – Hockey Central (Sportsnet 360)

Host: Jeff Marek; Studio Analysts: Corey Hirsch and P.J. Stock

·         6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT – Hockey Central Saturday (CBC, Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific, ONE and City excluding Toronto)

(Toronto) Host: George Stroumboulopoulos; Studio Analysts: Elliotte Friedman, Kelly Hrudey and Nick Kypreos

(Halifax) Ron MacLean – live from the Emera Oval

·         7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Winnipeg Jets vs. Detroit Red Wings (City)
Play-by-play: Paul Romanuk; Game Analyst: Mike Johnson; Rinkside Reporter: Christine Simpson

·         7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Montreal Canadiens vs. Toronto Maple Leafs (CBC)
Play-by-play: Jim Hughson; Game Analyst: Craig Simpson and Glenn Healy; Rinkside Reporter: Scott Oake

·         7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Cape Breton Screaming Eagles vs. Halifax Mooseheads (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West & Pacific)
Play-by-play: RJ Broadhead; Game Analyst: Sam Cosentino; Rinkside Reporter: Shawn McKenzie
Studio Host (from Halifax): Rob Faulds, John Shannon, and Todd Warriner

·         10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT – Vancouver Canucks vs. Calgary Flames (CBC and Sportsnet 960 The FAN)

Play-by-play: Dave Randorf; Game Analyst: Garry Galley; Rinkside Reporter: Rogers Millions

·         10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT – Washington Capitals vs. Los Angeles Kings (Sportsnet ONE)

·         1 a.m. ET / 10 p.m. PT – Hockey Night in Canada Post-Game (CBC)

Host: Stroumboulopoulos; Studio Analysts: Friedman, Hrudey and Kypreos